Who’s The Victim Now?

Guest Post (3) Author – ML-X

Fashion is not my thing.

Don’t get me wrong; it’s not like I walk around naked, but  if you ask me, there’s a reason why they call avid fashion followers “fashion victims”.  And how can being a “victim” be a positive thing?

Exactly.  To me, what you wear is a way of showing you’re an individual, and not a sheep amongst the herd.

I’m a huge believer in personal style, and I have a strong dislike for “clones”.  Don’t get me wrong;  I’m not condemning buying things that are on trend;  on the high street it’s almost impossible to find something that isn’t!  But the key is combining things in your own way.

Looking great doesn’t have to cost you an arm and a leg, but the world seems full of so-called “brand whores”, the mothers of all sheep, with their logo’s and trademark looks burning your retinas.

Here in the Netherlands there’s a saying that loosely translates as  “Even with a golden ring, a monkey is still an ugly thing”.  

In other words, it’s a great way to show off you have money, but personal style?  I don’t think so.

For me, life is a costume party.  One day I borrow from 80’s punk chic, the next day from the ladylike 50’s pin up era, pulled together from random pieces I buy at regular stores such as Zara, Tally Weijl and H&M.

I often go shopping with a friend who I consider to be a personal style expert.  We share similar tastes, love bargain hunting and sometimes we’ll even buy the same item.  But even with the same item, our personal take on style means we never, ever look the same.

So, what is personal style?

In my opinion it’s about wearing and combining whatever you like, exactly how you want to wear it.   It’s about feeling comfortable and gorgeous, without worrying how others might perceive you.

Don’t be a victim of fashion, but make fashion yours!

Bio
ML-X is a psychology graduate who works as a Buyer for a technical firm in The Hague, where she also currently resides.  She loves the good things in life, and is an avid karaoke singer and shoe collector.  When she’s not working, she’s either ranting about anything on her blog (emelix.wordpress.com) or enjoying a good book.  She intends to start up her own business in some time, but is open for anything the future might bring.
If you’re interested in writing a GuesT post then I’d love to hear from you at info@lforlazarus.com
Comments
3 Responses to “Who’s The Victim Now?”
  1. stilettosorpajamas says:

    Absolutely love this! 100% agree =)
    http://www.stilettosorpajamas.com

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. [...] me to get out of my fashion safe zone this time. You might have read a little about her in my guest post last month, but you should really check out her blog [...]

  2. [...] guest post I’ve told you about is online :) Check it out HERE, and of course, let me know what you [...]



What do you think? Let us know by leaving a reply here.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

